top of page

The Courage of Four

November 2017

On November 14, 1960,  four courageous African American 6yr. old girls intergrated New Orleans Public Schools. The McDonogh Three - Leona Tate, Gail Etienne and Tessie Prevost were the first to be escorted by U.S. Marshals when they arrived at an all-white segregated school called McDonogh No. 19. On the same fateful morning, another six-year-old girl named Ruby Bridges integrated a second New Orleans public school called William Frantz Elementary.

bottom of page